Meeting my cohort

Tonight was a farewell reception for the group going to Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University in South Africa for the semester. Its a good mix of first-year students, juniors, and seniors. There is also a wide mix of majors going (business, travel and leisure studies, psychology, elementary education, special education, and undecided. But, the group is 100% female!

I was surprised by this because the one group meeting I attended there was a guy there. Amy, who is the intern in the Multi-Cultural Student Services department helping to arrange all of our paperwork, said that study abroad is statistically 70% female. While universities are 60/40 split, study abroad sees a higher gender split. She sighted several studies, which attributed the lower rate for males studying abroad to such things as: risk, majors, and planning.

We did some icebreakers and talked about what we will miss (or what we think we will miss) while we are in South Africa. I’m not sure what I’ll miss because most of the things I will miss, I already miss because they are back in NC! I am looking forward to seafood! I do not think this fact can be overstated.

I still do not know where I will live while I’m in South Africa.  I do not think I will live with my fellow St. Cloud State University students, but  I wonder if I will be with other international students who are not studying abroad?  I’m not stressed about the situation, just curious.

50 days!!!

Comments are disabled.

The Consulting Editor

Editor | Proofreader | Writer | Consultant

Erin A. Frost

Technical Communication. Rhetoric. Feminisms. Composition.

South Africa Experience

My Experience Studying Abroad in South Africa

Dawn Opel

Assistant Professor at Michigan State University

Experiencing South Africa

Mason Study Abroad: Social Movements in South Africa

Fly High, Fly Far: Maya's South African Experience

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Hardest Science

A psychology blog. Thoughts about the mind, science, society, and whatever else.

Leading Technical Communication

On technical communication, leadership, and occasional flights of fancy

[ medical rhetoric ]

a special interest group of scholars from rhetoric and writing studies interested in medical rhetoric(s)

connexions • international professional communication journal

connexions • international professional communication journal (ISSN 2325-6044)

ATTW Bulletin

Association of Teachers of Technical Writing

Andy's Vision Quest

A Vision Quest is a rite of passage.

BLACKS DO SWIM

Be Assertive. Be Bold. Be Creative

