When all else fails, write

Evidently, I cannot escape writing. It is how I process information and the world and being on a semester abroad I am constantly downloading and processing new information from the world around me. Each day I don’t write I feel as though that day has slipped by me and I have failed it. It seems as I have more days my need to write increases rather than deminishes, as I had thought would happen.

This morning is the first day the university is in session. Students are starting today with their first classes for the semester and yes, before my little group left the hotel, we got one of the front desk people to take our “First Day of School” picture. I almost did that in the fall when I saw all of my friends sending their children off to primary school on Facebook. In the end, I did not document my first day of grade 19. *grins* My first day of school this semester was more dramatic. I’d say that we flagged down a combi (mini-bus taxi) but as it is most of the time, the combi flagged us down. The drivers do not hesitate to pull up on the sidewalk to get a rider, which is basically what this guy did. As we walked up he gave the familiar call, “Town! Town!” I told him that we were going to the university. Then as we passed the first taxi stop, he asked if that’s where we wanted to go. I told him no, we wanted to be dropped off on-campus. He clearly had never dropped students off on-campus before. So, each taxi stop we drove by he asked if that was where we wanted to go. Finally, we got to campus and could not open the door ourselves.

20140210-085630.jpg The driver told us that we had to put our arm through the window and open it from the outside. As I was in the process of doing just that another driver came and opened it for us. I’m glad I was with the other girls and that none of us were by ourselves. It could have been an intimidating situation on one’s own.

One response to “When all else fails, write

Leave a Reply

Erin A. Frost

Technical Communication. Rhetoric. Feminisms. Composition.

South Africa Experience

My Experience Studying Abroad in South Africa

Dawn Opel

Assistant Professor at Michigan State University

Experiencing South Africa

Mason Study Abroad: Social Movements in South Africa

Fly High, Fly Far: Maya's South African Experience

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Hardest Science

A psychology blog. Thoughts about the mind, science, society, and whatever else.

Leading Technical Communication

On technical communication, leadership, and occasional flights of fancy

[ medical rhetoric ]

a special interest group of scholars from rhetoric and writing studies interested in medical rhetoric(s)

connexions • international professional communication journal

connexions • international professional communication journal (ISSN 2325-6044)

ATTW Bulletin

Association of Teachers of Technical Writing

Andy's Vision Quest

A Vision Quest is a rite of passage.

BLACKS DO SWIM

Be Assertive. Be Bold. Be Creative

Social Movements in South Africa

A George Mason Short-Term Study Abroad Course

