Weird tan lines

At the end of my 2nd week here in Port Elizabeth, I’ve gotten some weird tan lines appearing. So far, my feet have the best tan. I gave up applying sunscreen every day because I was sweating it off by the time I got to school. And while I may have some amazing SPF, it tastes horrible! I have started keeping sunscreen in my backpack so I can apply as needed during the day. Some people here carry umbrellas to protect them from the sun, which doesn’t seem like a bad idea. I was amazed this week when I was in my office and my coworkers were not even breaking a sweat. Meanwhile, in the corner I was sweating buckets. Granted, I contracted a bug this week and so my internal temperature regulation was way off. Still, I was wearing shorts and t-shirt while they were wearing jeans, long-sleeves, and tennis shoes. Oh, and rare is the building with airconditioner. Studying in the library in the afternoon is much more appealing since it has a/c. I was going to get a small fan for my desk but I’m not sure how much I’ll be in the office for the rest of the semester. This week is when my work really begins. The English Skills Students start their classes and I will meet with them in the afternoons to work on their writing. I think I’m meeting with them in their classroom and thank goodness, it has fans!
I’m still waiting to meet with the writing center administrators. I spoke with the lady that I met with last year when I was here. I sent her my memorandum of understanding that my boss back in St. Cloud wrote, which outlines the criteria for my internship requirements. I also sent her my CV so that she could forward these documents onto the director. I look forward to starting both portions of my internship. I know I will learn SO much over the semester.
I got sent home on Thursday because there wasn’t much for me to do and I was just sick. I slept most of the day. Friday, we were supposed to tour a animal reserve, but the weather did not cooperate. That was disappointing. I went to a local coffee shop for the morning to finish my writing sample so I could submit my phd application. When I got back to the hotel in the afternoon our internet was working again and I finally submitted it! *sighs* Hopefully, I’ll have good news by spring break!

20140215-150654.jpg

Leave a Reply

The Consulting Editor

Editor | Proofreader | Writer | Consultant

Erin A. Frost

Technical Communication. Rhetoric. Feminisms. Composition.

South Africa Experience

My Experience Studying Abroad in South Africa

Dawn Opel

Assistant Professor at Michigan State University

Experiencing South Africa

Mason Study Abroad: Social Movements in South Africa

Fly High, Fly Far: Maya's South African Experience

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Hardest Science

A psychology blog. Thoughts about the mind, science, society, and whatever else.

Leading Technical Communication

On technical communication, leadership, and occasional flights of fancy

[ medical rhetoric ]

a special interest group of scholars from rhetoric and writing studies interested in medical rhetoric(s)

connexions • international professional communication journal

connexions • international professional communication journal (ISSN 2325-6044)

ATTW Bulletin

Association of Teachers of Technical Writing

Andy's Vision Quest

A Vision Quest is a rite of passage.

BLACKS DO SWIM

Be Assertive. Be Bold. Be Creative

