Small Acts of Kindness

20140519-210407-75847836.jpgSmall acts of kindness touch me because they are generally unshowy and genuine. I don’t mean that large gestures cannot also be genuine but sometimes it feels grandiose. Those acts seem more about the doer and not about the action. Over the past week I there have been many small acts of kindness people have shown me and I’m very grateful to them. There were a couple of combi drivers who gave me a free lift. One on the day it was raining which was really lovely. I think the clouds here have more water in them because even when it drizzles it seems like I get soaked! Another guy gave me a lift on Friday afternoon from campus to the gym. I had my bag packed for the gym but when leaving campus sometimes it is difficult to turn left towards the gym instead of right towards the hotel. Both of the drivers were guys that I knew from school trips. I guess the upside to getting car sick and not being able to ride with my friends in the back is that I now know about a 1/2 dozen drivers. They’re cool guys and I have learned a lot from each of them. Then Friday evening a group of us girls were walking back from dinner, in the rain, and a little too late when Stephanie accidentally flagged down one of the shuttle buses. He stopped and I ran over to ask if he could give us a lift. He totally could’ve just said “no” because that is normally not how they do things but he didn’t. He was kind and gave us a lift back to our accomodations. Then this evening I went to the student restaurant for dinner after laying down for a couple of hours waiting for the Goody’s Headache powder to kickin. When I finally got up and when down there the lady working there this evening asked me if I wanted chicken for dinner. I was a little confused at first because none of the food trays were empty. When I looked at the meat offerings, I definitely wanted chicken! I told her yes that I would like some and she went to the regular restaurant and brought some back for me. It went perfectly with the rice and squash. I was really moved. I’m sure there are many more incidents where people went out of their way that I am not even aware of but I thought I’d take a minute and share my gratitude.

Leave a Reply

The Consulting Editor

Editor | Proofreader | Writer | Consultant

Erin A. Frost

Technical Communication. Rhetoric. Feminisms. Composition.

South Africa Experience

My Experience Studying Abroad in South Africa

Dawn Opel

Assistant Professor at Michigan State University

Experiencing South Africa

Mason Study Abroad: Social Movements in South Africa

Fly High, Fly Far: Maya's South African Experience

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Hardest Science

A psychology blog. Thoughts about the mind, science, society, and whatever else.

Leading Technical Communication

On technical communication, leadership, and occasional flights of fancy

[ medical rhetoric ]

a special interest group of scholars from rhetoric and writing studies interested in medical rhetoric(s)

connexions • international professional communication journal

connexions • international professional communication journal (ISSN 2325-6044)

ATTW Bulletin

Association of Teachers of Technical Writing

Andy's Vision Quest

A Vision Quest is a rite of passage.

BLACKS DO SWIM

Be Assertive. Be Bold. Be Creative

