20 days and counting down

1June2014 and we leave in 20 days.

There is plenty of doing left in these 20 days. In addition to the school work we have to do there will be hugs, drinks, and maybe a few tears before we get back. And probably all of those things once we get home too! I’m also making time to reflect and plan. Reflect on my semester here in South Africa and plan for what’s next.

I’ve never had a year like this before. Its funny because even when we have things planned, we don’t always know how they’ll turn out but we take security in the plan. Sometimes security comes in the planning too. I say that I don’t know what I’m doing not because I don’t have a plan but because I’m full-on honest with myself that this time, I really don’t know how I’m going to “make it happen.”

To-do list:
work
see friends
catch-up with friends
file all the correct paperwork to graduate
finish packing
defend thesis
find a place to live in Fairfax
figure out how to pay for a move
clean old house
Move
Set-up new place
Go through orientation for school
Actually orient myself to the area
Plan syllabus for class
Get books and such for classes I’ll be taking
Unpack
Walk dogs
Empty cat box
Don’t panic

In January I didn’t know how things were going to come together for my time here at NMMU. I wasn’t sure where I was going to live, who I would be working with, or even the people I was traveling with. When I got on the plane I didn’t know what I would be doing next. Then I didn’t know what my plan was when upon returning to the States. Each of these unknowns have unfolded nicely. This is the first time that I have really embraced the fact that what I plan and what happens do not always match up. And I’m ok with it. Each moment has its own requirement and I just need to stay mindful and respectful.

20140602-071510-26110116.jpg

Leave a Reply

Erin A. Frost

Technical Communication. Rhetoric. Feminisms. Composition.

South Africa Experience

My Experience Studying Abroad in South Africa

Dawn Opel

Assistant Professor at Michigan State University

Experiencing South Africa

Mason Study Abroad: Social Movements in South Africa

Fly High, Fly Far: Maya's South African Experience

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Hardest Science

A psychology blog. Thoughts about the mind, science, society, and whatever else.

Leading Technical Communication

On technical communication, leadership, and occasional flights of fancy

[ medical rhetoric ]

a special interest group of scholars from rhetoric and writing studies interested in medical rhetoric(s)

connexions • international professional communication journal

connexions • international professional communication journal (ISSN 2325-6044)

ATTW Bulletin

Association of Teachers of Technical Writing

Andy's Vision Quest

A Vision Quest is a rite of passage.

BLACKS DO SWIM

Be Assertive. Be Bold. Be Creative

Social Movements in South Africa

A George Mason Short-Term Study Abroad Course

