A step closer

11403446_10153500936899887_3506925557172214450_nI wanted to revisit my first post. I thought that I had actually started this blog for my first trip to South Africa in March 2013. But my first trip to South Africa was SO fast! I took time to write in a paper journal but not in an online blog.
It makes sense that this was my first posting about the internship and semester long program I was about to embark on. There were many ups and downs getting to the point where tickets were purchased.
Initially, my proposal was denied, but then I was able to meet with the head of NMMU’s international office and make an argument directly to him. But the “No” I received from SCSU’s study abroad office seemed final when they sent me the email. But…when have I EVER taken a no like that?! You’re just gonna tell me no when this is something that I know can be done and that I am the one to do it? lol! I don’t think so!
Now, the student is becoming the teacher (literally). And the pattern repeats itself. I didn’t want to start blogging about my experience starting a new study abroad program until it was actually going ahead. There were plenty of ups and downs creating the program, going through the proposal process, recruiting students to apply, hoping that I had enough students for the program to get the green light.
Finally, it happened! Green light! We are a go!
The first study abroad program that I created, from the syllabus to the itinerary, is going to South Africa in January where the students will study Social Movements in South Africa!
Rarely, does life come full-circle in such a short period of time. My first trip to South Africa was in March of 2013 and was only nine days. Now, just under four years later I am going to lead a study abroad program.

Star Thrower

Tickets have been booked! Today, I got an email notifying me that my reservations had been made for South Africa! I need to pick my seats on the plane and then I’m set. One step closer to leaving for the semester abroad. We are flying out of Minneapolis and connecting to our international flight at Dulles Airport in D.C. From there we fly into Joburg which is a 14 hour flight. I’m really excited because right now we are scheduled to spend a day in Joburg. Hopefully, all of our flights stay on schedule so we can keep the day of sight-seeing. I know previous groups have visited Soweto, Mandela‘s house, and other historical sites.

Before I left St. Cloud for winter break, I got a thick envelope from NMMU. It had my acceptance letter from the university, information about health insurance and other items…

View original post 129 more words

Leave a Reply

The Consulting Editor

Editor | Proofreader | Writer | Consultant

Erin A. Frost

Technical Communication. Rhetoric. Feminisms. Composition.

South Africa Experience

My Experience Studying Abroad in South Africa

Dawn Opel

Assistant Professor at Michigan State University

Experiencing South Africa

Mason Study Abroad: Social Movements in South Africa

Fly High, Fly Far: Maya's South African Experience

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

The Hardest Science

A psychology blog. Thoughts about the mind, science, society, and whatever else.

Leading Technical Communication

On technical communication, leadership, and occasional flights of fancy

[ medical rhetoric ]

a special interest group of scholars from rhetoric and writing studies interested in medical rhetoric(s)

connexions • international professional communication journal

connexions • international professional communication journal (ISSN 2325-6044)

ATTW Bulletin

Association of Teachers of Technical Writing

Andy's Vision Quest

A Vision Quest is a rite of passage.

BLACKS DO SWIM

Be Assertive. Be Bold. Be Creative

